Wilmington PreceptorClinical placement for WilmU nursingGet matched

CPR certification and liability insurance for WilmU clinicals

Wilmington University's nurse practitioner pages set two conditions that go with you into every practicum: current CPR (cardiopulmonary) certification, shown before clinical experience, and the University's own group professional liability policy covering NP students. The pages stop short of naming a card type, a coverage limit or a renewal rule, so those are details to confirm before your first practicum.

Get your placement plan

Tell us your WilmU program and where you live. A placement advisor replies with the preceptor and site options that fit your WilmU course.

By sending this you agree we may reply by email, call or text about your placement. Message and data rates may apply; reply STOP to opt out. Privacy

Numbered steps. Getting both ready before a site asks: 1 Line up the dates; 2 Renew early if the card lapses mid-sequence; 3 Confirm the card type; 4 Ask how coverage is documented; 5 Keep one folder.
Getting both ready before a site asks: 1 Line up the dates; 2 Renew early if the card lapses mid-sequence; 3 Confirm the card type; 4 Ask how coverage is documented; 5 Keep one folder.

What WilmU's NP pages say

The MSN-FNP curriculum page lists what a student shows before any clinical experience begins: current CPR (cardiopulmonary) certification and an RN license valid where the practicum is held. The same page notes University-held group professional liability coverage for NP students. The graduate catalog's nurse practitioner entry repeats both the CPR condition and the insurance.

Together those lines describe a student ready for patient contact: certified in resuscitation, licensed where the practicum happens, and covered by the University's policy. The license piece has its own page, the RN license rule for clinicals, and all three sit inside what WilmU calls clinical credentialing clearance. This page covers the certification and the coverage, and the questions each one raises.

What each WilmU program says

WilmU's wording is specific for NP students and for the Nurse Anesthesiology DNP, and silent elsewhere. Where a cell reads not stated, the requirement may still sit in the program handbook; it is simply absent from WilmU's public pages.

Life support and insurance wording on WilmU's pages
ProgramCPR or life supportLiability insurance
MSN-FNP (and the catalog's nurse practitioner entry)Current CPR (cardiopulmonary) certification before clinical experienceUniversity group professional liability insurance for NP students
FNP and PMHNP Graduate Certificates; NP courses in BSN to DNPSame GRN practicum model; confirm the wording with the Assistant Chair for your trackConfirm with the NP Program Chair
DNP in Nurse AnesthesiologyBLS plus ACLS or PALS, with PALS due before the fourth semester; CCRN certificationNot stated on the admission page
DNP, Advanced Practice and LeadershipNot stated on the public DNP pagesNot stated; ask the DNP Program Chair
MSN Leadership, Educator concentration (MSN 7752)Not stated; clinical clearance is listedNot stated
RN to BSNNot among the NUR 303 credentialing itemsNot stated

What "current" means across four practicums

Current is the word that matters. A card valid on the first day of GRN 7121 but expiring before the end of GRN 7124 leaves a gap in the middle of your practicum sequence. The FNP practicums follow one another in order in the latter half of the program, three of 175 hours and a closing one of 225. The PMHNP sequence, GRN 7221 to GRN 7224, has the same shape.

Check the expiration date against the terms you will spend in practicum. In 2026-27, fall classes end December 13, the spring semester closes May 2 after starting January 11, and summer runs from May 10 until August 23. Renewing between terms, or during a reading week after a 7-week block, keeps a renewal class from competing with clinical hours.

WilmU's NP pages name no course provider or card type. Ask your track's Assistant Chair, or the NP Program Chair, which cards count, and read what each clinical site's onboarding asks for, since a site can set its own expectation.

The University's group professional liability insurance

WilmU says NP students are covered under a group professional liability policy the University holds. That is one policy the University holds for students as a group, which is different from an individual policy a nurse buys for their own practice. The public page does not describe limits, which activities it covers, or whether it reaches clinical hours outside Delaware.

Two practical questions follow. First, if a clinical site's intake asks for evidence that you are covered, who at WilmU supplies it? Second, if your practicum takes place where you work, how does your employer's coverage relate to the University's while you are there as a student? Both belong with the NP Program Chair.

DNP, Leadership and RN to BSN students will not find an insurance line on their public program pages, so they should ask the chair for their program whether the group coverage extends to their clinical courses. WilmU also notes an associated fee on certain FNP courses without saying which; the placement costs guide lists what students pay for.

Getting both ready before a site asks

  1. Line up the datesPut your CPR expiration date next to the last day of your final practicum on your plan in MyWilmU Degree Works.
  2. Renew early if the card lapses mid-sequenceBook the renewal class between terms rather than in the middle of a practicum, when clinical hours and coursework compete for the same days.
  3. Confirm the card typeAsk the Assistant Chair for your track whether the card you hold meets WilmU's CPR condition, and keep the reply.
  4. Ask how coverage is documentedFind out whom to contact if a site wants proof of the University's group professional liability insurance.
  5. Keep one folderStore your card, license verification and clearance confirmation together so a site coordinator's request takes minutes.

How we fit these into your placement

Every preceptor file we build for a WilmU student carries the items a site asks about first. Whether faculty are already involved in your practicum plans or the search is only beginning, we pair you with a preceptor and practice suited to your course, then set your certification dates, license and clearance status against the site's own intake steps.

When a card is due to lapse during your practicum sequence, we flag it while there is still time to renew. Faculty at WilmU approve each preceptor and site, and the paperwork we assemble for that approval is complete from the start. See the steps we follow, or tell us your course and card dates through the form lower on this page.

Questions WilmU students ask

Does WilmU require BLS or just CPR for NP clinicals?

WilmU's NP pages say current CPR (cardiopulmonary) certification without naming a course or card. The only WilmU nursing program that names specific cards is the Nurse Anesthesiology DNP. NP students should confirm which card counts with the Assistant Chair for their track, and check what each clinical site's onboarding lists.

Do WilmU NP students need their own malpractice insurance?

WilmU's pages say the University carries group professional liability insurance for NP students. They do not say whether a personal policy is expected or useful on top of it. If you are weighing one, ask the NP Program Chair how the group coverage works before you buy anything.

Is an online-only CPR class accepted for WilmU clinicals?

WilmU's public pages do not address course format. Clinical sites and employers can set their own rules about hands-on skills checks, so confirm with the Assistant Chair for your track and with the site's onboarding contact before you book a class that has no in-person component.

Does the University's liability insurance cover clinicals outside Delaware?

The page that mentions the group policy does not say. WilmU's state authorization page does promise to abide by other states' rules when field experiences happen beyond Delaware. Ask the NP Program Chair whether the group coverage follows you to another state before you confirm a site there.

What does the WilmU Nurse Anesthesiology program require for life support?

Its admission page asks for BLS plus ACLS or PALS, with PALS in place before the fourth semester, and CCRN certification. Those are entry conditions for a full-time, 36-month program run with ChristianaCare; the Nurse Anesthesiology DNP guide covers the rest of that program.

Last checked 2026-09-27

We check these pages against Wilmington University's own program and curriculum pages, the 2026-27 graduate catalog, the College of Nursing and Health Sciences policies and the State Licensures by Program page. Your NP Program Chair, your course faculty and the College have the final word.

A WilmU practicum coming up? Your preceptor search starts here.

Tell us your WilmU program, where you live and when your next practicum starts. Whether WilmU's faculty help with your placement or you are starting the search yourself, we find preceptors who fit the course, check the health system's own intake steps, and organize the preceptor's license and credentials well before the first day.

  • Preceptors matched to the course: family practice across the lifespan for GRN 7121 to GRN 7124, psychiatric mental health for GRN 7221 to GRN 7224, doctorally prepared for the DNP
  • Clinicians who meet Delaware's rule for APRN program preceptors: an active APRN, PA, pharmacist or physician license in a comparable focus
  • Close to home, in a state where you hold an RN license, with each system's onboarding mapped out early

Start your placement plan

Program, city and semester is all we need to begin.

By sending this you agree we may reply by email, call or text about your placement. Message and data rates may apply; reply STOP to opt out. Privacy

Placement deskPlacement Coordinator · online